Oops! It appears that you have disabled your Javascript. In order for you to see this page as it is meant to appear, we ask that you please re-enable your Javascript!
Home / Presentation

Presentation

ESTABLISHMENT OF THE TRUTH AND RECONCILIATION COMMISSION

The Truth and Reconciliation Commission (TRC) has its source from the Arusha Agreement between political actors in Burundi on 28 August 2000. It is stated in the Agreement that “there is established of a national commission called the National Commission for Truth and reconciliation. This commission will establish the truth regarding the painful acts of violence committed during the cyclical conflicts that have devastated the country from independence date (1 July 1962) to the date of signing the Arusha peace Agreement.
The temporal space (given the Commission) that was specified in the Arusha Agreement was changed by Act No. 1/18 of 15 May 2014 on the establishment, mandate, composition, organization and functioning of the Truth and Reconciliation Commission. This law states that the mandate of the TRC is 1 July 1962 to the date of signing of the cease-fire agreement with the PALIPEHUTU-FNL (2008). The same law stipulates in its Article 6, paragraph 1, the mandate of the TRC is that of conducting investigations to establish the truth about “the serious violations of human rights and international humanitarian law.”

Pursuant to Law No. 1/18 of 15 May 2014 on the establishment, mandate, composition, organization and functioning of the Truth and Reconciliation Commission, a call for applications to be Commissioner of the TRC was launched by the National Assembly and a Parliamentary commission was appointed in September 2014 to preselect 33 among the 725 applications received. It is in these 33 applications that Parliament could nominate 11 Commissioners whose names follow:

President: Archbishop Jean-Louis Nahimana, born in 1964 originally from Bujumbura.
Vice President: Bishop Bernard in Ntahoturi in 1948 from the province of Bururi.
General Secretary: Me Niragira Clotilde, born in 1968 from the province of Kayanza.
Other members:
Dr. Didace Kiganahe, born in 1960 from the province of Bujumbura.
Hon.Libérate Nicayenzi, born in 1957 from the province of Mwaro.
Bishop Pierre Antoine Madaraga, born in 1953 from the province of Kayanza.
Bishop Onésiphore Nzigo 1951 from the province of Gitega.
Hon.Pascasie Nkinahamira, born in 1959 from the province of Rutana.
Bizimana Clotilde, born in 1964, native of Gitega.
Sheikh Ali Shabani Djumaine born in 1960 originally from Bujumbura.

These 11 personalities have been appointed by the President of the Republic as members of the TRC through Decree No. 100/286 of 8 December 2014. The Commissioners sworn in on December 10 2014.

The first thing by which the TRC members started to do was retreat in which they were able to define the vision and objectives in the short and medium term.

[1] Point a) of Article 8 of Chapter II in Protocol I on the nature of the Burundian conflict, genocide and exclusion problems and solutions, Arusha Peace Agreement and Reconciliation in Burundi of 28 August 2009.

TRC VISION AND OBJECTIVES

Vision

“Through mutual listening and empathy faculties cultivated in them throughout the process of seeking the truth, Burundians have on their traumatic past, their fellow citizens and the causes of their past difficulties of the human eyes, impartial, soothed and more close to each other. They draw a clearly increased capacity and transformed the political and social compromise that lays the foundation for social stability and sustained policy “.

Objectives

1. Overall objective

Promote a policy, sustainable economic and social stabilization of Burundi in contributing to the search for truth on the serious violence of the past by promoting their reading and comprehension close and empathetic by Burundians and by proposing and supporting the implementation of reconciliation measures and reforms that soothe and heal minds and troubled hearts and restore Burundian society on the path of change and equal progress, stable and dynamic.

2. Strategic Objectives

The following goals are part of the strategy in the sense that they propose structuring and prioritizing the work of the TRC, facing the potential danger (i) a profusion of cases filed for investigation request and (ii) of the dispersion the commission’s efforts. The objectives defined too vague and impersonal the drawback of not giving real orientations and priorities to members of the TRC. They thus tend to disperse without orders to multiple poles of action. In the end, it often proves costly in time and money, which is for more concrete results which are difficult to identify.
The strategic objectives are located with respect:
- The mission of the TRC;
- The organization of the TRC.

1) With the active participation of actors and contemporary witnesses and assistance and expert lighting, headlights political events of the contemporary history of Burundi are subject to search inclusive and open debate that enable:
a good knowledge of the key data of the political, social, economic and cultural that preceded and accompanied the unrest in Burundi, particularly in 1965, 1972, 1988 and 1993;
reconstruct and bring out with the greatest possible precision the nature of the decisions and the chain of decisions and responsibility in triggering the facts and in the events management that followed.

2) Within a batch of 2 000 cases selected for investigation and hearings of the TRC at least 50 emblematic cases of serious human rights violations and / or eminent humanitarian actions are handpicked and depth in their examination to promote collective and didactic way a conscious awareness and greater understanding of Burundi:
on attitudes individual and group behavior within the governed populations, leading sometimes the best and sometimes the worst;
the moods and attitudes within the ruling class, ruling or opposition, leading to the best and the worst.

3) inspired particularly initiatives already observed in the field and sociopolitical experience of Burundi, designing and driving one or reconciliation programs that:
were developed after formal consultation with a representative group of victims, if possible and appropriate, with the assistance of organizations and independent associations close to them or working with them with dynamism and ethics;
provide material compensation, including compensation (cash payments or other) and services (including education, health, housing, etc. evaluated in ascending order of munificence; provide symbolic reparations, such as official and solemn apologies, the renaming of public spaces, the establishment of days of commemoration, the creation of museums and parks dedicated to the memory of the victims;
provide rehabilitation measures, if necessary, to restore in some victims their “citizenship status” to rehabilitate (through public statements about their innocence, radiation criminal records and return of passports, maps electoral and other documents) include, where appropriate, collective reparations measures such as this concept is defined by the TRC:
were the subject of a gender-specific extension program; stimulate the contribution and significant participation of the author alleged to repair action; stimulate the contribution and participation of the whole community in the remedial action;
Burundian pushing the state or the local community to take leading roles in the design and implementation of repair projects;
contribute to strengthening the status and position of women collectively and sustainably;
encourage acts of solidarity among victims from all ethnic backgrounds and gender;
provide a structure to facilitate access to services, especially for people whose attitudes victim of precisely expose them to disadvantages compared to overly strict conditions (short registration deadlines, closed lists, too high standards of proof to establish the fact of violation creating a victim, etc.), if they were asked for access to benefits;
cover victims of serious violations of civil and political rights but also the victims of grave violations of economic and social rights why the victims of some violations could reach pre repairs and other non

4) Design, implement and facilitate, through the mandate of the TRC and its outcome, a framework for action and dialogue that encourages participation and contribution of all reconciliation initiatives Burundians. To this end, it may inspire particular (i) the evolution and nature of the “request for reconciliation” which arises from the context of operation of the TRC and (ii) the opportunities that each situation and each case to present an action for reconciliation in the short, medium or long term.

5) Build the information and evidence gathered throughout its mandate to make recommendations in order to contribute to the rewriting of the most widely Burundian history.

b. strategic objectives in organizational matters

1) Promote to i) the priority beneficiaries of the TRC within the population, ii) government, administration and Burundian services and iii) bilateral and multilateral technical and financial partners of the State of Burundi and knowledge of a public perception of the TRC who value its mission and its capacity to operate in the sociopolitical context of changing Burundi

2) Organize and distribute the work of the TRC effectively and efficiently so as to make it both accessible and capable of reflecting a truth that covers the reality of the whole country, with the best economy of means available.

3) Organize an effective and consistent distribution of roles within the TRC (members and staff) and arouse the same time the involvement of other national actors in the achievement of its mission to (i) create the conditions for sustainability of its work and results and (i) to streamline the time and resources of the TRC.

Now you can make your online deposition on this website through "Online Deposition Menu".

Accueil / Présentation

Présentation

logcvr_En application de la loi n 1/18 du 15 mai 2014 portant création, mandat, composition, organisation et fonctionnement de la Commission Vérité et Réconciliation, un appel à candidature pour être Commissaire de la CVR a été lancé par l’Assemblée Nationale et Une commission parlementaire a été nommée en septembre 2014 pour présélectionner 33 parmi les 725 dossiers reçus. C’est dans ces 33 candidatures que le Parlement a pu désigner 11 Commissaires dont les noms suivent :

  • Président : Mgr Jean-Louis Nahimana, né en 1964 originaire de la mairie de Bujumbura.
  • Vice-président : Mgr Bernard Ntahoturi en en1948 originaire de la province de Bururi.
  • Secrétaire Général : Me Clotilde Niragira, née en 1968 originaire de la province de Kayanza.
    Autres membres :
  • Dr Didace Kiganahe, né en 1960 originaire de la province de Bujumbura.
  • Sén. Libérate Nicayenzi, née en 1957 originaire de la province de Mwaro.
  • Mgr Antoine Pierre Madaraga, né en 1953 originaire de la province de Kayanza.
  • Mgr Onésiphore Nzigo, 1951 originaire de la province de Gitega.
  • Pascasie Nkinahamira, née en 1959 originaire de la province de Rutana.
  • Clotilde Bizimana, née en 1964 originaire de Gitega.
  • Sheikh Ali Djumaine Shabani né en 1960 originaire de la Mairie de Bujumbura.

C’est 11 personnalités ont été nommés par le Président de la République comme membres de la CVR à travers le Décret n° 100/286 du 8 décembre 2014. Les Commissaires prêteront serment le 10 décembre 2014. Des lors la CVR a entamé ses activités

La première des choses par lesquelles les membres de la CVR ont commencé à faire, c’était la retraite dans laquelle ils ont pu définir la vision et les objectifs à atteindre dans le court et le moyen terme.

  • [1] Point a) de l’article 8 du chapitre II dans le protocole I sur la nature du conflit burundais, problèmes de génocide et d’exclusion et Solutions, Accord d’Arusha pour la paix et la réconciliation au Burundi du 28 août 2009

VISION ET OBJECTIFS DE LA CVR

Vision de la CVR

« Grâce aux facultés d’écoute réciproque et d’empathie cultivées en eux tout au long du processus de recherche de la vérité, les Burundais portent sur leur passé traumatique, sur leurs concitoyens et sur les causes de leurs difficultés passées des regards plus humains, impartiaux, apaisés et plus rapprochés les uns des autres. Ils en tirent une capacité manifestement renforcée et transformée au compromis politique et social qui jette les bases d’une stabilité sociale et politique prolongée ».
Objectifs de la CVR

1. Objectif global

Promouvoir une stabilisation politique, économique et sociale durable du Burundi en contribuant à la recherche de la vérité sur les violences graves du passé, en favorisant leur lecture et leur compréhension rapprochées et empathiques par les Burundais et en proposant et soutenant la mise en œuvre de mesures de réparations et de réformes qui apaisent et guérissent les esprits et les cœurs troublés et rétablissent la société burundaise sur la voie d’un changement et de progrès équitables, stables et dynamiques.

2. Objectifs stratégiques

Les objectifs qui suivent participent de la stratégie au sens où ils proposent une structuration et une priorisation du travail de la CVR, face au danger éventuel (i) d’une profusion des cas déposés de demande d’enquête et (ii) de la dispersion des efforts de la commission. Des objectifs définis de manière trop vague et impersonnelle présentent l’inconvénient de ne pas donner de réelles orientations et priorités aux membres de la CVR. Ils tendent ainsi à les disperser sans ordre vers plusieurs pôles d’action. Au final, cela s’avère souvent coûteux en temps et en argent, qui plus est pour des résultats concrets qui sont difficiles à cerner.
Les objectifs stratégiques se situent par rapport :
– à la mission de la CVR ;
– à l’organisation de la CVR.

a. Objectifs stratégiques en relation avec les missions

1) Avec la participation active d’acteurs et de témoins contemporains et le concours et l’éclairage d’experts, des événements politiques phares de l’histoire contemporaine du Burundi sont soumis à une recherche et un débat inclusif et contradictoire qui permettent :
une bonne connaissance des données clés de l’environnement politique, social, économique et culturel qui précédaient et accompagnaient les troubles survenus au Burundi, particulièrement en 1965, 1972, 1988 et 1993;
de reconstituer et de faire ressortir avec le maximum de précision possible la nature des décisions prises, ainsi que la chaîne de décisions et de responsabilités dans le déclenchement des faits et dans la gestion des événements qui ont suivi.

2) Au sein d’un lot de 2.000 cas sélectionnés pour les enquêtes et les auditions de la CVR, au moins 50 cas emblématiques de violations graves des droits humains et/ou d’actions humanitaires éminentes sont triés sur le volet et approfondis dans leur examen pour promouvoir de manière collective et didactique un éveil de conscience et une connaissance plus poussée des Burundais:
sur les mentalités et les comportements individuels et de groupe, au sein des populations gouvernées, qui mènent tantôt au meilleur, tantôt au pire;
sur les états d’esprit et les attitudes, au sein des classes dirigeantes, gouvernantes ou d’opposition, qui mènent au meilleur comme au pire.

3) En s’inspirant notamment des initiatives diverses déjà observées sur le terrain et de l’expérience sociopolitique du Burundi, concevoir et impulser un ou des programmes de réparation qui:
ont été élaborés après une consultation formelle d’un groupe représentatif des victimes, si possible et pertinent, avec le concours d’organisations et d’associations indépendantes proches d’elles ou œuvrant avec elles avec dynamisme et éthique;
prévoient des réparations matérielles, incluant des indemnisations (versements en espèces ou autres) et des services (notamment éducation, santé, logement, etc. évalués selon un ordre croissant de munificence; prévoient des réparations symboliques, telles que des excuses officielles et solennelles, le changement du nom d’espaces publics, l’établissement de jours de commémoration, la création de musées et de parcs dédiés à la mémoire des victimes ;
prévoient des mesures de réadaptation visant, le cas échéant, à rétablir chez certaines victimes leur « statut de citoyen », à les réhabiliter (au moyen de déclarations publiques concernant leur innocence, de radiations des registres pénaux et de la restitution des passeports, des cartes électorales et d’autres documents)
prévoient, le cas échéant, des mesures de réparations collectives, telles que ce concept sera défini par la CVR :
ont fait l’objet d’un programme de vulgarisation à caractère sexospécifique; stimulent la contribution et la participation significative de l’auteur présumé à l’action de réparation; stimulent la contribution et la participation de la communauté tout entière à l’action de réparation;
poussent l’Etat burundais ou la collectivité locale à prendre les premiers rôles dans la conception et la mise en œuvre des projets de réparation;
concourent à renforcer le statut et la position des femmes de manière collective et durable ;
encouragent les actes de solidarité entre victimes de toutes origines ethniques et de genre ;
prévoient une structure facilitant l’accès aux prestations, en particulier pour les personnes dont les attitudes de victime, précisément, les exposent à des désavantages par rapport à des conditions trop strictes (délais courts d’inscription, listes bloquées, critères de preuves trop élevés pour établir le fait de violation créant une victime, etc.), si celles-ci étaient posées pour l’accès aux prestations ;
couvrent les victimes des violations graves des droits civils et politiques mais également les victimes de violations graves des droits économiques et sociaux
expliquent pourquoi les victimes de certaines violations pouvaient pré- tendre à des réparations et d’autres non

4) Concevoir, mettre en œuvre et animer, tout au long du mandat de la CVR et à son issue, un cadre d’action et de dialogue qui favorise la participation et la contribution de tous aux initiatives de réconciliation des Burundais. A cet effet, elle peut s’inspirer notamment (i) de l’évolution et de la nature de la « demande de réconciliation » qui naît du contexte d’opération de la CVR et (ii) des opportunités que chaque situation et chaque cas présente pour une action en réconciliation, à court, moyen ou long terme.

5) S’inspirer des informations et des témoignages recueillis tout au long de son mandat pour formuler des recommandations en vue de contribuer à la réécriture de l’histoire burundaise la plus largement partagée.

b. Objectifs stratégiques en matière organisationnelle

1) Promouvoir auprès i) des bénéficiaires prioritaires de la CVR au sein de la population, ii) du gouvernement, de l’administration et des services burundais et iii) des partenaires techniques et financiers bilatéraux et multilatéraux de l’Etat burundais une connaissance et une perception publiques de la CVR qui valorisent sa mission et ses capacités à opérer dans le contexte sociopolitique changeant du Burundi

2) Organiser et distribuer le travail de la CVR de manière efficace et efficiente, de sorte à la rendre à la fois accessible et capable de refléter une vérité qui couvre les réalités de l’ensemble du pays, ce avec la meilleure économie des moyens mis à sa disposition.

3) Organiser une distribution efficace et cohérente des rôles au sein de la CVR (membres et staff) et susciter en même temps l’implication d’autres acteurs nationaux dans la réalisation de sa mission afin de (i) créer les conditions d’une pérennisation de son travail et de ses résultats et (i) de rationaliser le temps et les ressources de la CVR.

La Commission Vérité et  Réconciliation  au centre de la Vérité au Burundi
 
Désormais vous pouvez faire votre déposition en ligne sur ce Site Web via la rubrique "Déposition en Ligne" .